Guide to the Administration Panel

Go down

Guide to the Administration Panel Empty Guide to the Administration Panel

Post by Alex Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:23 am

Okay, so Forumotion's Admin Panel isn't really the most intuitive thing ever.  

The stuff you think should be grouped together never is.  I've been helping admin a site for three years now, and I often find myself knowing what I want to tweak, and then having to trawl through the entire Admin Panel because I can't find where it's hidden.

Below is a quick overview of what stuff is where, so you (and I) don't get lost.

Home

This is where you land when you first open the Admin Panel, and to be honest, it's a bit of nothing.  I always skip past this page, if that tells you anything.

There are a bunch of warnings here that, if you've ever been on the internet, you probably already know.  The part about how to enhance your traffic might be useful if you've never run a site before, but I'll go over that in more detail in another thread.  

One thing you will probably want to do is look at the top left corner under the welcome notice, and switch your Admin Panel to Advanced mode.  Don't be intimidated, it's actually easier to work with.

General

Where you set up the forum itself, and configure your post and message settings.  You can think of this as the foundation of the forum.  There's a sidebar on the left so you can skip between options easily.  

Some Tips

To get rid of that ugly "Free Forum:" in your site's title, go to Forum > Configuration and delete it from in front of your site's name.

To close your site while you're setting it up, while still in Configuration, scroll down to below where it says under construction, and put your site into holiday mode.  Construction mode lasts a maximum of 7 days, whereas holiday mode lasts until you turn it off.

Display